Sewability

I’ve been planning to do some dressmaking lessons since I was in Dublin, I didn’t feel like I was very helpful to Natalie because my sewing and pattern cutting skills aren’t up to scratch (entirely my own fault for not taking advantage of the facilities and amazing technicians at my university) so I got on google and found Sewability, a haberdashery and sewing school in my area, it has amazing reviews online so after Christmas and new year I rang up expecting to be able to go along to a lesson the very next day, I had no idea that there would be a huge waiting list! I didn’t know that dressmaking was so popular in my area! So Sue put my name down on the waiting list and I waited for a place to become available.

On Monday night I received a text from Sue informing me that she has spaces this week for Tuesday evening, Wednesday afternoon or Thursday afternoon, I felt like I’ve been waiting around to do some sewing for AGES so I jumped at the space for the very next evening and yesterday I went along with my toolbox and had my first lesson!

It’s a lovely studio with 8 sewing machines, 6 over lockers, a heat press, ironing board and lots of fabric and patterns for sale. Sue showed me around and I picked out a simple pattern to get me started, a simple pencil skirt with an invisible zip and I chose some black crepe to make it with. I only got round to cutting out the pattern and fabric this week but I started sewing up the side seams on my own machine when I got home and I’ve put my name down to attend Sewability again next Tuesday.

I’m so happy to be sewing and making again, I haven’t had much luck finding a job or another internship and it’s really getting me down, I’m going mad being sat at home talking to my cats all day! I emailed lots of events companies volunteering to help out backstage at London fashion week thinking that because I already have experience assisting backstage at Free Range I would easily get something and just stay with family down in London for the week but I still haven’t heard anything back from anybody and fashion week is fast approaching. I wont give up though, I’m determined to get as much experience as possible on my year out before I go back to uni for 3rd year.

Leave a Reply

