Goodbye Dublin

Last night, I flew home from Dublin for good, it was an emotional night, and not for the reasons you’d think; long story short I went over my luggage allowance by 10 kilo and had to pay €100, I’ve told my friends and family to not expect any Christmas presents from me this year.

Now that I’ve gotten over the initial shock of being fucked by Ryanair, I guess it’s time to reflect upon my time in Dublin. I’m not going to pretend that it was the best time of my life because it wasn’t,  but as lame as it sounds, even though I didn’t learn as much about sewing and pattern cutting as I hoped too, I learnt a lot of life lessons. I learnt how to find somewhere to live in another country, how to manage my money,  how to find my way around, I learnt how hard it is to move to a new place where you literally don’t know anybody and I learnt that it’s okay to admit that you’re not having a good time and that you miss home. I think a lot of young people who go off and live, work or study in another city or country feel like they’re not allowed to ask for help or say that they miss their mom. I was scared that people would say that a city is what you make of it and if you don’t like it you just haven’t tried hard enough, but I think as long as you gave it a go there’s nothing to be ashamed of, I stuck it out for 6 months and I think that’s actually a pretty long time to be away from home, when you move away life back home doesn’t just stand still, family members get sick, friends have birthdays, get married, give birth, all the important life events you want to share with the ones you love happen a hundred miles away and you just have to see what you’re missing out on over facebook and it bloody well sucks.

So my plan going forward is to find a part time retail job where hopefully I can get involved in some visual merchandising; I feel this would help me with my course and future jobs I apply for within the fashion industry, possibly do an internship for an independent designer in Birmingham part time, and I’m looking in to doing dressmaking and pattern cutting lessons, when I was in Dublin I felt like I wasn’t as helpful to Natalie as I could have been because I didn’t have the sewing skills, and she didn’t have the time to teach me because she was working to tight deadlines and with expensive fabric which couldn’t be wasted . The technicians at my university are AMAZING but I didn’t make the most of their help or the facilities at my university during the first two years of my degree, I greatly regret this now, I’ve come to realize how lucky I am to have access to such expensive machinery and how I could have used my spare time to improve my skills but I was too busy getting drunk. But I can’t change the past, all I can do from here is draw and sew as much as possible before my third and final year to get my skills up to scratch so I feel confident enough to make a collection, I also need to save up money because it’s not going to be cheap. I’ve contacted a place called Sewability which is local to me and has great reviews for it’s dressmaking classes. I’ve also emailed a lot of events companies volunteering to work back stage at London fashion week in February.

Hopefully I’ll hear back from people soon so I won’t have to scrounge off my parents for too long.

Leave a Reply

